Customer Reviews

Submit Your Own Review
Average Rating: 5.0 stars (based on 21 ratings)
Manchester Lifestyle Awards Winner Rosette

A massive thank you to Alex & staff for making my 30th birthday party so special!
Customer service was great, I was able to visit the venue numerous times beforehand to plan decorations etc and I was given advice/recommendations with music/food/entertainment.
The room and the facilities ( ie. private bar and bathrooms) we booked were ideal for the number of guests.
Such a great venue – would highly recommend!!

Michelle
November 9, 2019

My fiance and I went for our first drink here, and decided to have our engagement party in the Attic room upstairs. Alex and Cherish were fantastic and kept in touch with us leading up to the night letting us know what was available and catered to everything we needed. All the bar staff and doormen were incredibly friendly and accommodating. I couldn’t recommend this place enough. Thank you guys for helping make it such a fantastic night!

James
October 19, 2019

Really lovely and accommodating staff, great liquids on craft, and the downstairs Terrace/Lounge is the perfect space! Oh, and totally affordable!

Joe Clegg
October 9, 2019

Thank you for helping to make my daughters leaving party special. The lounge area and terrace was perfect for what she wanted. You looked after everyone so well making sure the afternoon was perfect. We loved the privacy whilst had lovely views of Deansgate lock. We brought our own food and DJ, everything was made so easy for us right from the first phone call. We will definitely be booking again for future events.

Gail Cullen
October 9, 2019

We booked Lock 91 for our wedding party and it was fantastic! Alex was our contact person who was just brilliant; he was really helpful and re-assuring and we knew we were in good hands as soon as we had that first meeting. The whole team were so thorough and professional and they clearly knew what they were doing when it came to events and catering, etc. The venue itself is full of character and charm, with a quirky edge to it and in a great location. The food was all made by Lee at Circle Events, who likewise was very attentive and creative with the dishes and the food was absolutely delicious (we went for vegetarian catering). Everyone loved it and went home talking about the wonderful food and great venue! We were a party of about 70, and it began downstairs in the Lounge & Terrace with canapes and sandwiches, then soup and fish and chips served from outside. It was February but the sheltered terrace was surprisingly cosy and there was plenty of room for everyone to eat and drink and mingle, inside or out. Later we moved upstairs to the Attic for music and dancing, then more food later on and it just had a great atmosphere up there, everyone was in a great mood! I can only thank the staff of Lock 91 and Circle Events for providing the best day we could imagine and we will definitely be back in for a drink soon! I can thoroughly recommend them!

Lucy
May 4, 2019

My partner and I received the gin tasting experience as a christmas gift. A little reserved at first bit we had a fantastic time. The lock 91 bar team were great and very helpful. Dave leading the drinkology session was very knowledgeable, explaining the history of each gin we tasted and how to identify and link each gin with its garnish. Dave said he was unwell, but we really couldn’t tell because the session was delivered brilliantly (despite some loud groups). Thank you very much lock 91… a lovely, boozy, educational afternoon.

April 30, 2019

Attended rum tasting event. Was absolutely brilliant. Very informative speaker, good mix of attendees, really enjoyable way to spend a couple of hours on a Saturday afternoon!

Shelley
April 29, 2019

Thank you so much for hosting our wedding on the 29th Dec. From our first visit, we knew you were the perfect venue for us. The whole process felt totally personal and bespoke. Everyone commented on the gorgeous characterful venue and how hard working and friendly the staff are.

Everything was perfect; you are a brilliant venue and a brilliant team! Thanks for memories to cherish forever.

April 29, 2019

I had the best birthday party at Lock 91 in the attic area thanks to Alex and all of the team. I knew exactly what I wanted – including some rather out there requests like a silent disco, balloon ceiling and a room decked out with shimmer curtains – but nothing was too much trouble for Alex who was really supportive in helping me make my vision come to life. I was able to visit the venue several times in the run up to the event – Alex even helped me measure every inch of the rooms so I was clear on what decorations I’d need – and I was able to set up in the day before my party meaning that there was plenty of time to get everything as I wanted it. Lock91 put me in touch with a brilliant DJ called Mark too who helped me get the silent disco up and running – my guests absolutely loved this element and it got everyone up on the dancefloor, where they then stayed for the rest of the night too! I had about 60 guests attend and the attic space which was the perfect size, the fact it has a private bar and bathroom too was also great and a real added bonus. I was also surprised at how quickly we hit the bar tab, the drinks are quite pricey but I guess that just helps ensure you’ll hit the minimum spend which is never a bad thing. But yeah, basically I can’t thank the wonderful staff at Lock 91 enough for all of their hard work and for helping me throw a party that all my friends are still talking about – massively recommend!

Ellyn
April 19, 2019

We held a 40th birthday party at lock 91. The party was a huge success with so many of our guests commenting on how brilliant the venue was. We had a fantastic night and the staff were amazing. Not only was everyone helpful on the night- but in the run up to the party everyone at lock 91 were so helpful and responded quickly to any questions that we had and were hands on theoughout the whole process. They let us in before they were open to set up, they helped us with all enquires, they were attentive throughout the evening and after the party was over and the clearing up process they again were fantastic -helping the DJ collect equipment supplying receipts and tidying up after us. All in all everyone at lock 91 were professional and the venue was perfect for what we required.

Thank you so much!!

Clare Connor
January 3, 2019

I booked the Lounge Bar and Terrace for my fiance’s 40th birthday party and we had an absolutely fabulous night. The venue is perfect for a party, there is a good sized bar area then another room which is done out like a living room with tables, chairs and a fireplace then there is a large covered terrace by the canal.

Music wise we just used our iPad which you can plug in to their sound system and control the volume yourself and the music also goes outside on to the terrace. From the point of booking all the way through to the party night, the staff were extremely helpful and really friendly and checked how things were going all evening and kept us up to date with the bar spend so we knew how we were getting on in making sure we spent the minimum spend.

Everybody commented on what a great venue it was and how helpful and friendly the staff were. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting a fun, relaxed party, we will be back!

Alex Howd
November 9, 2018

A massive thank you to Alex & staff for making my 30th birthday party so special! Customer service was great, I was able to visit the venue numerous times beforehand to plan decorations etc and I was given advice/recommendations with music/food/entertainment. The room and the facilities ( ie. private bar and bathrooms) we booked were ideal for the number of guests. Such a great venue – would highly recommend!!

Michelle
November 9, 2018

We celebrated my boyfriends 30th Birthday at lounge and terrace.Everything went really well,all staff were great and polite.

Maija
October 9, 2018

Had an Ibiza / Studio 54 themed 40th in the Attic at Lock 91. The staff were fantastic – completely got what I was trying to achieve and helped me transform the venue into the ultimate disco-chic establishment.

Throughout the process the staff kept me up to date of what I needed to do to ensure my party was a success. On the night the bar staff were brilliant. Cherish was an absolute star, and made sure everything ran smoothly. The rest of the team were great too, and many of my guests commented on how friendly and professional they were.

Classy place, classy staff, and a really well stocked bar. What more do you need?!

Ben
July 27, 2018

Just a note to say thanks so much for all your help making our 40th party so fab.The room is a great space for a party, and all the staff and team were so friendly and helpful. Marc the DJ was referred me to by the venue manager, and he was very easy to communicate with before hand, and help make our night just how we wanted!Many thanks, everyone had a fab night! I would definitely recommend Lock 91!

Kate
February 26, 2018

Held our wedding party in the attic – faultless venue. The service was excellent, everything ran very smoothly. We provided our food and they kept it replenished and the tables were kept tidy all evening. All staff extremely helpful, wonderful evening. We had decorations which they helped put up, and could play our own playlist for the night. Great for when everyone was arriving then dancing all night long. Couldn’t recommend enough!

The Pollocks
February 26, 2018

I hired the top floor room for my leaving drinks with work, what an amazing building with fantastic features throughout. Certainly one of Manchester finer pubs/bars. I can not fault the staff, considering the amount of people that turned up, nobody waited ages for drinks, staff were very attentive and very pleasant. Only that I am off to Liverpool I would certainly be back. I would like to thank Sam and Andi for all of their help in arranging this great night.

David Jenkinson
January 25, 2018

We held an engagement party in the Lounge & Terrace at Lock 91 which was fantastic! Exclusive basement floor with two sitting rooms, private bar and lovely outdoor terrace on the canal. The staff on the night were fantastic- from making bespoke cocktails, to organising our drinks reception/ food and literally tending to any of our needs! From booking months in advance the venue was really helpful with organising everything- even discussing room decorations and party props. It was beautifully decorated for Christmas as we held the party in December.

Only thing I would say was the music wasn’t loud enough, it was great for background music but not when everyone wanted to dance. Needless to say, we had a fantastic night and made some special memories. I would highly recommend holding an event at Lock91.

Hayley Johnson
January 25, 2018

We recently held our wedding reception at Lock 91 and what an amazing day we had. When searching for the perfect venue to hold our wedding we stumbled upon Lock 91 by chance and we are extremely grateful that we did. The location was perfect for us and our guests travelling from all over the country.

As a laid back couple we wanted a venue that would be just that too. During the numerous meetings we had at the venue, Andy could not do enough for us. He listened to our suggestions and advised on things that would help make the day run as smoothly as it did. Nothing was too big or too small to ask for. He made it clear from day one that it was our day and we could have what we wanted.

The whole team went above and beyond to ensure the day was what we wanted. The team on the night were great too. They did everything in their powers to make sure our guests were happy – and us of course. The way they work together is a credit to Andy who has trained his staff to be amazing. There weren’t many people who had heard of the venue and some were a little bit dubious about it when we were trying to explain what it was like. EVERYONE commented on how amazing the venue was and how much of a great time they had.

If you are looking for a venue that is different, quirky, laid back, comfortable then this is the venue for you. If you go and visit you won’t be disappointed.

Lock 91, you helped to make our wedding the most memorable experience and we can’t thank you enough. We will definitely be recommending the venue and hopefully more of our friends will visit whilst in Manchester for the evening.Laura and Adam Thomason

Laura Thomason
January 23, 2018

We were recommended to use this venue when let down by someone else and it couldn’t have gone better. The organisation was straight forward, the staff superb, beautiful venue (we were upstairs in the Attic) and it was a very enjoyable evening for everyone involved. Massive thanks to Alex and the team, we brought a large group of people from all over the country who were extremely impressed – thank you for making our party such a success.

Donna
January 4, 2018

Had my sons surprise 18th here. A guy called Andy couldn’t help me enough with all my preparations and with everything I needed to make the night go as well as it did on the night. A guy called Sam helped me on the night was so helpful couldn’t do enough forMe was so polite and helpful asking me through the night is everything ok and was genuinely a lovely guy the party went so well everyone loved the room and really loved my choice of venue couldnt have asked for more and my son really enjoyed it as well as my friends and family fantastic place and fantastic staff would definitively recommend the venue thank you once again to Sam lovely guy couldn’t do enough forMe well done lock 91 for a truly memorable night.

Karen
January 4, 2018